IPOD setup help

Discussion in 'Modifications & DIY how-to' started by anxiousdohc, Sep 13, 2006.

1. anxiousdohc

anxiousdohc New Member

i'm trying to upgrade to Ipod setup for my car....but I never owned an ipod or never changed out my headunit so..i'm pretty clueless...

I've been doing some researching and something like Kenwood DPX-501 that has a USB wire directly on the font plate seems nice so i can just directly plug ipod....and I want to use Ipod as my primary unit so this seems pretty nice...

and I guess going with AUX setup is pretty common....

Q1) what would have the best sounds quality and the worst?

Q2) what are some of the other setups that are out there??

and keep in mind that I have to buy an ipod unit and a headunit...and i'm a college student with partime job...so i want to keep my cost lowest possible***

also keep in mind that I will be using the Ipod as my primary at all times so I would need a charger for the Ipod in the car....so I would need that component in the car too

suggestion on nice cheap headunits would be nice too...
    The cheaper the headunit the better....aslong as I can hook up an Ipod to the car

thank you for your help

2. flip

flip Member

You might want to look into the clarion head units. They have some really nice looking ones for decent prices with the direct ipod feature. It has a hookup in the back that will let you run a wire to somewhere inconspicuous like your glove box. You would hook your ipod up to this wire, and from there your ipod can be directly controlled through the head unit. You wouldn't have to fumble around with the ipod at all... It also keeps it charged so you wouldn't have to remember to take it inside at all to charge it...

This is the one that I have:
    http://store.mauromotorsports.com/sp5co3inha.html

Its just under 200$, plays mp3's has the ipod hookup, 700 something colors so you can match the color to whatever one you want etc, etc....