My Topspeed Experience

Discussion in 'Product & Service Reviews' started by WolfSong, Apr 23, 2008.

1. WolfSong

WolfSong Member

[​IMG]

Well as some of you know, I've had some pretty bad experiences with my car not running right since I went to Stage 2. Every time we seemed to find something (boost leak, hole in pipe, BOV leaking, oil leak) it would run good for a few days and then degrade again.

Well I finally came up to Topspeed to get a pro-tune on my Cobb unit... the car ran like crap on the way up and was breaking up... no reason at all and I'd finally decided to take Delette's advice and get a good tune on it and see if that worked itself out.

Doug strapped my wagon to the Dyno as the 3rd car of the day for him, and almost immediately we started to have issues with it. Doug was saying that the MAF signal was way out of spec... we did various tests to see if we could isolate the fault, but couldn't find anything and deduced that the car just wanted to run like that.

Just as I was getting to the point where I was going to tell him to just get the car safe to drive home, Doug re-wrote the fuel trims and the MAF map and managed to get a strong pull in... thought it was actually a mistake because the numbers were a lot higher than we expected. But he was able to make repeated pulls with the same results.

[​IMG]

Car runs well... better than it's run since I got it back from my parents last year... think that there were a couple of reflashes done by the dealer that my dad was taking it to. One of the only things that I can think of is that since it's an early wagon, that the ECU was a different spec than the later production cars, so by adding the Cobb and the OTS maps the car was running worse and worse.