Traffic ticket

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by Mad Mallard, Nov 28, 2015.

1. Mad Mallard

Mad Mallard the mad mallard

I havent had a ticket in over 15 years, and i just got levied a 52 in a 35.

at what cost threshold does one typically need a lawyer?

2. TURBOH4

TURBOH4 Member

I'm no lawyer but here are some things to consider:

- Depending on the county, it may be possible to talk to the solicitor (I think that's what they call them) and argue/plead your case and have them reduce the amount over - if it was DeKalb, forget it

- Your age will work in your favor

- The length of time it's been since you were cited will also work in your favor, though previous traffic-related incidents will be taken into consideration as well

The (relatively speaking) good thing is that you were <20 over. I'm not sure how much that ticket is going to cost you, but typically an attorney of any decent caliber will charge $750-1000 flat-rate to handle something of this nature. Though, depending on the attorney, they may tell you to "just pay it". From what I've seen, most lawyers offer a free consultation (over the phone or in-person).

Ultimately, I'd be more worried about how your insurance company is going to handle it. If you've been with the same company a while, and it's (obviously) been a while since you had an infraction, they may not increase your premium. Some insurers, however, are not that friendly and may seize the opportunity to bump your rate sky high.

3. Mad Mallard

my primary concern is that all the vehicles in the house are under my coverage now, so insurance cost is paramount.

this took place in Sandy Springs Municipality, known since it incorporated.

Last edited: Nov 28, 2015
  4. nik_05STi

nik_05STi Member

No lawyer needed. Plead your case to a prosecutor (if allowed). With a good driving record, they might reduce it, resulting in a lesser fine

5. Mad Mallard

I can't deal in 'might's' for this.