Anyone DL'ing Win 7 RC1 today?

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by BelvnAWD, May 5, 2009.

1. BelvnAWD

BelvnAWD I'm Vin, Bell-Vin...

I downloaded both the 64 bit and 32 bit versions off Microsoft's website this morning. Will install it on my media pc later today. Apparently its good until March 2010, which should give me plenty of time to decide if I like it or not.

2. SonicBoom

SonicBoom Active Member

Stupid question.. but this is still beta right? Is it free to try?

3. nsvwrx

nsvwrx Active Member

Its actually in RC, yes free to try. I got it last week, its pretty stable so far.

4. Kokopelli

Kokopelli Active Member

I have been running the beta for a couple of months now as a media center pc and as my dev pc at work. It has been very stable for me so far.

5. nsvwrx

nsvwrx Active Member

Upgrade to RC.

6. longfury

longfury Active Member

The Release Candidate has proven to be more stable than just about any OS Microsoft has ever released.

A RC is a version that a software developer thinks is ready to be released and sends it through the testers again to be sure.

I finally got it installed. Reinstalling windows actually revealed that I have a video card going bad. I could not install an OS at all no matter what version I tried. Now I am video card shopping.

7. BelvnAWD

What are the media center features like? Anyone using it as an extender? If so, how stable is it/ any newer features?

8. Strayen

Strayen Active Member

I am downloading RC 64 bit. I guess i'll have my PC start getting the 32 bit also. I plan on installing it on the same laptop that is running beta Win7. It is definitely stable even in beta. All drivers work off of vista just fine, even nvidia quadro drivers. Need to test and see how it handles photoshop and such.

I MIGHT put it on the gaming PC and dual boot and see how gaming performance is with DX10 (or is it 11)? I forget.

9. Mad Mallard

Mad Mallard the mad mallard