Blackberry users...looking for a recommendation.

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by rexrocker, Jul 13, 2005.

1. rexrocker

rexrocker Active Member

For those of you who use a Blackberry, any personal experience with either the RIM7290 or RIM7100t?

2. moose

moose Infina Mooooooose!

I have a 7290. It's nice. Signal strength is pretty crappy compared to my Nokia phone.

Have a look at the new compact Blackberries... they don't have a full keyboard but you can get a folding keyboard for $100 that works with it.

3. rexrocker

rexrocker Active Member

By the new compact BBs, do you mean the 7100 series? I go back and forth...I like the full keyboard and screen size of the 7290, but the overall size and quality of the integrated phone on the 7100t seem to be better (acc'd to reviews). I have zero personal experience with Blackberries...so what's your take on screen size? How much web browsing do you do on the BB? Is screen size really an issue for you?

Thanks for offering up your opinion. I appreciate it! Back to my research! :)

4. moose

moose Infina Mooooooose!

We have a 7100g floating around here at work, and I got a chance to look at it. I really don't see the minor reduction in screen real estate being an issue. As long as you don't plan on doing a lot of emails and such, it's probably the best approach.

I thought I'd be doing some web browsing, but even the 7290 screen is pretty small, and browsing is sloooooooow. WAP sites work great (I use the E*Trade one which rocks), and it's handy to have a browser to look something up when you're out.. but actively browsing just for fun? Nah, not worth it.

5. BelvnAWD

BelvnAWD I'm Vin, Bell-Vin...