EJ20R Swapped BD Legacy

Discussion in 'Member Journals & Project Build Stories' started by John, Mar 5, 2011.

1. John

John Active Member

I just picked up this car tonight. It actually has quite some history behind it.

A friend of mine, Wazzy bought this car a few years back. It was a complete piece of shit. He paid about $400 bucks for it and it was on its last leg. With a lot of time and A LOT of money, he got it to the point where it is today.

This is my first boosted car, so I'm new to the world of boost. I've driven this car coutless times in the past so I'm somewhat use to the feel of having boost, but its nice to finally be able to call it mine.

As sad as I am to say this, he has kind of stepped out of the Subaru game for awhile. I bought his Legacy since he got a new turbo awd car (build is in progress, I'm sure you all will see it soon).

I would like to take a minute to thank Wazzy for giving me a good deal on the car!

Here are a few quick specs

EJ20R converted to single turbo
    Rotated TD04
    Greddy boost controller
    D2Racing coilovers
    STI V3 5speed JDM transmission
    STI V7 seats
    FMIC
    Megasquirt ECU
    Ford EDIS ignition
    MSD coil pack; Mustang GT wireset
    252 upgraded cams
    Prosport Gauges
    WRX wheels
    WRX brakes

I'll have it on the dyno sometime in the next few weeks to see what kind of numbers I get and to get a good tune on it. It recently had the turbo changed, so its running on the old tune right now with the boost controller set down to 4psi

I do have a lot of plans for the car, and I think I have a very good starting point for a lot of power. I'll be looking into a 6 speed STI trans sometime in the future, along with an EJ257 block. But for now, the current setup will work just fine.

I don't want to jack Wazzys pictures, so I'll be posting my own pics. I didn't get the car until after dark tonight, so I don't have the best pictures in the world yet....More pics to come very soon