Glock vs. Springfield Compact Review

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by mmtasty, Feb 4, 2010.

1. mmtasty

mmtasty Active Member

My first gun was a compact Springfield XD9. It really set the bar high because everything I try/buy now I compare to it, but I had no idea that what I bought was so good. The XD is easy to shoot, 9mm ammo is cheap, it's kinda small, fits GREAT in your hand, lifetime warranty... I knew about Glocks, but I didn't want to pay the $ for one because I just didn't know. So as a total nOOb I decided I needed a .45 next. I also wanted a smaller gun that I could conceal carry (If you know your guns you know this isn't a good idea, but we can all dream). So I bought a Taurus PT145Pro. :unamused: Long story short, I sold that for a bitchy little Kahr CW40 because I heard nothing but fantastic things (lies)... and shortly after that I now own a Glock23. If you want to know more just ask and I'll discuss.

Anyway! Looking back I'm glad I bought the XD as my first gun. Why? Because I learned that it was possible to have a gun that works 100% and never FTF or FTE. It's like getting a Honda Civic for your first car. You don't know what you have until you trade it in on a Ford. If I had bought a Glock at first it would have been like getting a Toyota Carolla. Same basic point.

So here is my comparison on the two. I'd recommend these to ANYONE looking for a first/great gun. These are both "compact" (not sub-compact). The XD is a 9mm and the 23 is a .40, but they both share parts with the XD40 and the G19. Same everything, just little different round.

[​IMG]
    From the outside they're both about the same size. The Glock is a little smaller, but it's hard to tell... What you should notice is that the SA has a hand safety like an 1911. You have to be holding the grip to pull the trigger. Also, look at the profile of the grips. The SA comes in at the webbing of your thumb, which really makes it fit my hand well.

[​IMG]