Redrunners Composite Adventure

Discussion in 'Member Journals & Project Build Stories' started by Redrunner, Aug 23, 2013.

1. Redrunner

Redrunner New Member

Hey, I suppose I should start one of these. I drive an 08 wrx and as of early last year in my free time I take parts, mold them, and infuse lightweight composites from them. I decided to do this after I almost considered purchasing a Seibon hood. And upon closer inspection of one I came across I could see how cheap it was. It was heavy and yellowing. I started geeking out on the manufacturing processes, the different type of moulds, resins, waxes, gelcoats, prepregs, etc... Found a great composites forum and here we are. It's now a hobby of mine. I have a bit over a thousand bucks invested in this stuff and really really enjoy it. Maybe someday I can make some money back!, but for now im still learning how to make the perfect part.

My first project was my own trunk: resin infusion with epoxy resin. 3 layers of 5.7oz carbon outer shell, 3 layers of 5.7oz carbon inner shell.

fiberglass mould with orange jell coat.... it turned out really bad, was applying everything i had learned for the first time. I did everything right, just not enough polish and sanding on the mold. And during the infusion I popped a leak in the vacuum bag and had to seal it back with a hand full of vasoline. lol It worked.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

I learned alot from the first project. I have recently repaired it some and put a proper clearcoat on. Now it look half way professional (from a moderate distance) :naughty:

I have made a second trunk since and I will post that en-devour soon, but Its beer 30 and I have buds coming over. booya

2. KGraska

KGraska Member

Nice work...that's taking DIY to a whole new level.

Are you baking the final product in an oven or does the resin set up on its own?

3. ChrisW

ChrisW Member

Very impressive, have you tried any smaller parts like interior bits?

4. Redrunner

Redrunner New Member