savannah= DANGEROUS?

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by mokinbird87, Apr 11, 2007.

1. mokinbird87

mokinbird87 Active Member

man, i need to be at savannah next quarter for my school, (because they dont offer my major in atlanta), and i hear stuff about all the students being on drugs, drive by shooting, etc.. i heard that two students were killed down two blocks on the day of the orientation, and some guy got shot while driving, and ran into the fuse for the campus, causing all the lights to go out...

i`m scared!! i dont know if my degree is worth my life..

2. Deke

Deke Active Member

I wouldn't be overly concerned about it. It's not neccesarily the best neighborhood, but certainly no worse than Macon or Atlanta (at least downtown).

SCAD?

Last edited: Apr 11, 2007
  3. Alex

Alex Community Founder Staff Member

It has a high crime rate, but then again so does Atlanta.

As with anything, if you're smart about it you will find little problems.

4. LightWerkz

LightWerkz New Member

well said alex!

5. Mad Mallard

Mad Mallard the mad mallard

just don't act like a victim. be aware.

6. savsuby

savsuby Member

I live in Savannah. I love living here.

7. miloman

miloman Retired Admin

I lived near Centennial Olympic Park for a couple years. Not the best neighborhood around Georgia Tech. Live smart and you will be fine.

8. Hazzard

Hazzard Member

alex is correct.
    we do have a high crime rate here, but then again, so does atlanta. you just have to be aware of your surroundings. before i bought my house, i lived downtown in what some people call "an up and comming" neighborhood. it was a completly different perspective for me since i grew up in the 'burbs of atl.

as to the drug thing, i don't know figures, but i know many of the scad students use drugs. just stay away from student parties and you will probably have to never run into that. hell, most of the scad parties i went to just had alcohol, but if you stay long enough, you will see other stuff.