"Spare Parts" WRX

Discussion in 'Member Journals & Project Build Stories' started by talktojin, Feb 19, 2011.

1. talktojin

talktojin Member

I figured I’d start a member journal for my WRX, since I’ve been doing work on it here and there for these past 2 month. I bought it back in December 2010, after giving up on finding a nice GC8 that wasn’t over-priced or rusted to hell. My goal was to learn my ways around a Subaru and get a taste of it before jumping into a RSTI down the road.
    When I bought it:
    2002 WRB WRX with STI interior bits. 87k miles
    Tein S-techs (gah)
    [​IMG]
    Tokico Blue Shocks for rear (good)
    [​IMG]
    Stock Shocks (blown)
    [​IMG]
    STI seats, carpets, and door cards. Also STI knob, boot, and boot trim.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    I was a complete Subaru noob, and didn’t know how crappy Tein S-techs were, or how many parts were missing from my car (more to come about this). My current plan is to keep it easy DD with bit of oomph, and stock like look with bits of OEM flare.

First time the car saw snow!
    [​IMG]

First mod was to take out the crappy Tein springs and replace struts and tophats. I end up getting a nice deal on Epic Engineering Springs and ordered new KYB OEM-replacement parts off Amazon. The suspension upgrade made the ride difference night and day. While the car was getting new legs, we find that my car was missing fender liners and engine undercovers… Along with ram air and snorkel…. This trend will continue…
    Second mod, was getting ATLxPAT’s old BBS rim and tires. The falken that came with the Legacy wheels was already well worn with only few months of rubber left, so I figured I can spring for the gold BBS locally.
    [​IMG]
    At this point, my buddy is far more excited and mod-happy with my car than I was, and egged me to get a new exhaust for the car. He had spammed me with FS links every day, and found a Cobb full TBE setup for good discount. We started taking things out…
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]