STi engine swap into WRX

Discussion in 'Modifications & DIY how-to' started by sol drums, Mar 11, 2005.

1. sol drums

sol drums Active Member

I know this sounds crazy. But if they are never going to make a STi Wagon & my engine is pretty much modded to the max. I was thinking... why not put in the larger STi engine? Anyone ever heard of someone else doing this?

-drums

2. socrates42

socrates42 Member

yeah ive seen it, there is a guy with a silver 02 on long island who did a full jdm v8 swap into his wagon. its silver. I think it was even in turbo mag or something.

3. moose

moose Infina Mooooooose!

If you're going to go through all that trouble, why not go with a nicely built motor that can handle whatever you want to throw at it? I'm new to the Subarus, but have read about the 2.2 block and some other options that'd let you make some wicked power...

4. ScoobyMike

ScoobyMike OG Mod

I would build a race ready motor

5. GTscoob

GTscoob Black is Beautiful

You could go with an EJ22 shortblock out of an older Legacy Turbo (2.2L closed deck), USDM STI shortblock (2.5L semiclosed deck), or various JDM STI, STI RA, etc blocks (2.0L semi closed, closed on RA).

I think thats how the factory engines sort out, and then there's Axis, Crawford, Cobb etc built blocks that use aftermarket rods/pistons.

Lotsa people have been swapping motors now in WRXs (check it out on NASIOC). Pretty much any of the new generation engines (STI ver7+) bolt right in and use the factory wiring I believe. The engines with AVCS require a little bit more wiring.

6. sol drums

sol drums Active Member

Well i'm not sure i'm going to do this. My friend Tommy was over at my house and we were talking about when he was going to start modding his WRX & what he wants to do. He sugguested that if I do anything more to my car, I should put in the STi engine or the RS engine. Said a turbocharged RS engine will get major HP gains. Something about a low compression engine w/ a turbo added?