Subaru WHP numbers- A serious Discussion

Discussion in 'Modifications & DIY how-to' started by Batlground, Nov 15, 2007.

1. Batlground

Batlground Active Member

Let me start off first by stating:

I AM NOT A SUBARU MECHANIC
    I AM NOT A SUBARU TUNER
    I HAVE NEVER WRENCHED ON A SUBARU

Now , i want to start a decent discussion on the variances i see in different setups with the Scoobys.

My Backround:
    Honda/Acura engines, turbo setups and NA performance
    Hold the record for most NA whp out of a B series engine in GA (237whp 2.0L)
    Worked for 3 different "speed" Shops
    Work closely with several BIG manufacturing companies (skunk2, hytech, SMSP, RMF, IPS)
    Tested various combinations of parts from manufacturing companies
    Consulted/built anything from 170whp NA engines to 690whp Turbo engines.

Subarus are new to me, ive only started learning about them since i came to Batlground. Most of my knowledge is from cars that have been tuned here (by Dan and Scott), Matt Balls projects, Friends Subarus, and Dynos posted by other shops (Topspeed, Dynoformance, etc).

I would like to hear different opinions and try to learn something as im bored at work right now :)

Ok well mainly im interested in what i call "the lack of real power" out of some crazy setups and $$$$$ spent.

How come i have friends with STOCK STI LONGbLOCKs with FP Reds and methanol making 500+whp, but guys with BUILT motors, GT35Rs, $7000 heads and cams can barely break 450whp?

How come guys with simple stock location turbos (Superzilla and Frank 60s) make 350whp (20psi) and ive seen dynos of VF39s that make 310whp. I mean we are talking about a stock turbo versus aftermarket an only a 40whp gain.

Why is it so hard to break the 500whp mark? Or how come we dont see enough of it.

I guess my main point is how come there are VERY HUGE differences in power levels, it seems to me there is no consistency unless its a bolt on only car.