which battery for me?

Discussion in 'Modifications & DIY how-to' started by mokinbird87, Apr 16, 2015.

1. mokinbird87

mokinbird87 Active Member

sorry, couldnt quite figure out which section of the forum to post this... mods feel free to move it.

so... I`m a total noob when it comes to electronics so I have been doing a lot of reading and searching.

to give you some background here is my situation:

I installed the innovate supercharger kit on my car recently (love the kit). However, the weight of the blower makes the front end very heavy and made my rear end really twitchy. I am now looking at every single way to make the front end back to the oem weight or lighter with the kit on the car, and one of the easiest ways is to utilize a lighter battery. My friend makes a lighter battery kit for our cars using the Shorai battery kit (super awesome guy, quality product http://store.kcmachine.com/collections/lighterisbetter-battery-packages-for-subaru-cars/products/subaru-brz-battery-tray-and-shorai-battery-package-preorder), but the only issue is that I am often gone for about a week and a half on business trips and I do not have time to unhook the battery every time I go to the airport. Hell, I barely make it on the plane most of the times. The battery kit is super light and has more cranking power than the oem battery, but the capacity is too small for me.

so, this lead me to the idea of relocating the battery to the trunk. I know I`m not saving much in terms of overall weight vs the lightweight battery kits in the front (heavy gauge wires running through the entire car, etc), but it`s a great chance for me to move the weight bias more towards the rear to have a similar weight distribution as the way it came from the factory. I also do not need the spare tire thanks to AAA.

After looking at this thread (http://www.ft86club.com/forums/showthread.php?t=83885)
    I found out the specs for OEM battery is:
    360 CCA
    60 Ah
    29.5lbs