Buying a new Car and dealing with sales people

Discussion in 'Modifications & DIY how-to' started by liltoua, Jan 27, 2015.

1. liltoua

liltoua Member

So long story short, my girlfriend is in the market for a new car. She wanted a forester, but I would only allow her to get an XT and it's out of her price range :rofl:. So she has settled for a new Legacy. So this is my first time ever attempting to talk to sales people and negotiate on a car. I'm knowledgeable about the car itself, but need some tips and/or real experience on how to get the best price without getting rip off. I have already read through numerous post/articles on it, but just asking the community about your personal experiences. If it were to me I rather not even walk into a dealership. I feel like they will take advantage of me haha.

So far the majority of the articles I read pointed out...

1. Get pre-approved for a loan before you walk in.
    2. Always talk about out the door price and not monthly payments.
    3. Don't buy extra protective stuff that they try to sucker you into.
    4. Be willing to walk out of the dealership.
    5. Shop around other dealerships to get the best price.

Also what dealership should I be looking at. Reading through the Reviews thread....seems like it's a mix bag haha.

GO!

2. Matto357

Matto357 Crazyazn likes Naps Staff Member

Get quotes through email first. Walk in and see who will beat the prices you've been quoted. Look in to Hueberger and getting it shipped.

3. liltoua

liltoua Member

^^ Ahh yes! I read about that. I even watched a video that said you can buy a car without even walking into a dealership and everything can be done over the phone.

4. Matt

Matt Think before you post Staff Member Supporting Member

https://www.truecar.com/#/

also, you can buy a car from costco. Seriously. If you have a costco account, you can purchase a car, or at least get a quote from them.

5. liltoua

liltoua Member