Air Compressor

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by ihavefat, Oct 14, 2014.

1. ihavefat

ihavefat Member

Hey guys, my birthday is coming up and I may be looking to pick up an air compressor (well it was either this or torque wrench or 1-2 day rental of 2011-2014 5.0 mustang gt for old times sake lol from girlfriend).

The purpose will be impact tools/buffing/sand blasting mostly. Portability is not really necessary..I am sure it will be somewhat pricey brand new so probably go with used. Honestly it's not like I would use it everyday but mostly weekend projects/etc/etc

What kind/size do you guys recommend? I don't know a thing about air compressors and I know most of you guys have worked in shops and what not.

2. Matt

Matt Think before you post Staff Member Supporting Member

3. integroid

integroid Supporting Member

http://www.northerntool.com/shop/tools/product_200455339_200455339

This is the one I have been using for a few years. This company makes the compressor sold under the IR, Dewalt, Snap On, Northstar brand names. Just different color. The Northstar brand name seems to be the cheapest now out of the group. Plus if you wait, Northern gives out coupons for $20-$50 off.

4. ihavefat

ihavefat Member

those two look awesome..just a little out of my price range. I kind of like the portability of the Northern one even though I said it wasn't really necessary Lol

5. techlord

techlord Active Member

to buff or sandblast you will need decent capacity or that sucker will run nonstop.

I had a 40gal and it couldn't run a cutting tool for more than 30 seconds.

6. orndog

orndog Member

7. ihavefat

ihavefat Member

Oo gotcha. Hmm..
    Can you run pressure washer using the compressor?

8. integroid

Not that I have ever seen. That would require a water pump....not an air pump/compressor.

9. superhawk28

superhawk28 Member

10. integroid