Evil Wagon

Discussion in 'Member Journals & Project Build Stories' started by fastnfurious7, Sep 18, 2014.

1. fastnfurious7

fastnfurious7 Member

This is the Evil Wagon:

[​IMG]

Anyone recognize it? The Duke is a friend I met on the miata forum when I was building this:

[​IMG]

'93 turbo miata. I became obsessed with the project and dumped so much dough in it that I haven't even finished parting it out yet and was able to purchase my E30 sedan aka Krauthammer AND the Evil Wagon.

Anyway, Duke informed me this is Sparta's old '03 Bugeye Wagon.

I love wagon's & I needed to get my turbo fix. Couple that with AWD and an awesome price = no brainer. I love it!

2. fastnfurious7

fastnfurious7 Member

Sparta may be able to clarify but this is what it came with: 17" wheels painted white, a Kartboy short shifter, vf39 turbo, Legacy gears in the 5MT, Tein S. Tech springs, and an unidentified (bc I'm still learning Scoobys) divorced gas 3" DP apparently mated to STi catback exhaust.

Upon purchase the front, right suspension had an awful clunk. Inner most bolt on bottom control arm was loose. Apparently it boogered up the bushing and the bolt enough that even after tightening, aggressive driving will work it back loose.

Does anyone know the official name for that bushing so I can order one and a bolt? Is it as simple as right inner control arm bushing and bolt? I'll search for a schematic.

The shifter was very sloppy. Ordered TIC's short shifter kit complete with updated, serviceable linkage. I was unaware that a Kartboy short shifter was already in place. It turns out that one of the two bushings where the selector rod attaches was missing. I fixed that and swapped in all the Kartboy shifter stay bushings and the linkage. I tossed the "Still Hood" metal dildo shift knob in favor of a 1lb Blox. Wagon now shifts like butta without the slop. This was enhanced further with the addition of Kartboy polyurethane trans brace bushings.

Last edited: Sep 18, 2014