i want a motorcycle

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by bigb996, Sep 24, 2005.

1. bigb996

bigb996 teh Wannabe Mod

My parents are totally against motorcycles but i really enjoy them and have riden dirt bikes and have a couple racing 4 wheelers. The way i see not much a difference. I have never riden a crotch rocket only sat on one. I want a 600 bike of some form honda, suzuki, yahama, or kawasaki. I really dont care, my thing is i want to get one for less than 3 grand. Anyone know a good place to start looking? i cant find anything that cheap on cycle trader. I figured someone that had layed theres down might want to get rid of it for cheap. Anywayz im planning on just buying one and bringing it home.

I dont need to go bigger than a 600 because 1. im a little guy and 2. im not experienced on this form of bike. any info would be appreciated.

2. RADON

RADON Member

There is a cult like following on the Suzuki SV650. They look to be in your pricerange used. Couple sites my brother forwarded me, he's a cycle guy. I'm sure others will chime in.

http://www.sv650.org/
    http://www.svrider.com/

3. moose

moose Infina Mooooooose!

Well, here's my $.02...

First off, don't listen to the bike mags who treat 600s as 'beginner bikes'. A 600 supersport is something that deserves a serious amount of respect.

The SV650 might be a little friendlier.

Personally, I'd recommend a decent condition 80s 'zuk GS or similar bike (500-550cc). No plastic to break, inexpensive for a good one, and you can turn around and sell it a year later for basically what you paid.

Also, make sure you budget $1k or thereabouts for proper gear. A generic leather jacket from Wal-Mart and a $100 helmet doesn't cut it. Figure on $200-300 for a decent helmet, $80-100 for gloves, $150-200 for boots, $100-150 for pants, and $200-300 for a jacket. Don't skimp on this.

Also, read this for some perspective on riding bikes: http://zrxoa.org/03Z1Rthreads/hitandrun.htm