Infamous Coilover Question

Discussion in 'Modifications & DIY how-to' started by film_god, Jul 19, 2013.

Tags:
  1. film_god

film_god New Member

I'm looking for coilovers for my '12 STi (limited) sedan. I've taken the time to browse other threads and there is a ton of great info but I'm hoping to get some advice for my specific application.

I bought my STi after my EVO VIII was totaled by a valet driving an Altima the wrong way down the street -_-. I had been building and driving my EVO since 2007 and was very familiar with the way it handled on BC BR coilovers + Swift Springs. I want to build my STi in a similar fashion but the Subaru is a completely different animal. While the STi is my DD, I don't mind a slightly stiffer ride at the expense of better cornering. With my EVO, I was always worried that the BC setup would either break or fail at the most inconvenient times and while they never did, they always seemed "too good to be true"... at least for the price. I know that I could just buy springs but I'm going for more than looks here with the occasional track day and frequent night cruises through the city.

I was recommended either the BC BR (with SWIFT springs) or Fortune Auto 510's but I'm wondering if I should bite the bullet and spring for either the KW V3's or even the Cusco ZERO 2E's (as recommended by a friend).

The Fortune Auto 510's, to me, seem like the best bang for the buck but I'm looking for something relatively long term on this car and don't want to skimp on anything that will cost me more later down the time.

2. Matt

Matt Think before you post Staff Member Supporting Member

3. crazyazn

crazyazn I like naps Staff Member Supporting Member

^^ what matt said. I had tarmac2's on my '06. A friend and member on here rsutton has t2's on his GR wrx and we both love them.

Yes the price is pretty steep compared to the options you have listed, but there is a notable difference in actual performance of the kw's/t2's.