The "Tune" Process - Explain?

Discussion in 'Modifications & DIY how-to' started by lilsanch, Feb 5, 2016.

1. lilsanch

lilsanch Member

Hi all.

First of all, I apologize to have just joined the party here and I'm already mooching knowledge without giving much back. I am fairly new to Subarus though, so hopefully in due time I will be able to be a better contributor.

Anyway, as I stated in my introduction post, I drive an 03 WRX wagon with a completely stock engine, turbo, etc.

Being around Subarus, you always hear people recommend a "pro tune", as a good tune will improve power and drivability. I have also heard mentioned that if one was going to go for a tune, it's best to bring as many bolt-ons as the bank allows, because you can get more out the engine that way.

I am still a little fuzzy on the details of the process, though. Could someone please explain to me what the shop actually does during the tune process, and what types of benefits would I get from bringing a completely stock engine into a shop for a tune. I am a stone's throw from Allpro, so I have them in mind specifically.

Additionally, are tunes customizable? For instance, if I wanted to sacrifice peak boost for quicker spooling, could that be done, or would that require a smaller turbo?

You may be able to tell that I'm new to turbo cars, Subarus, and aftermarket tinkering, so any information you can offer is most welcome.

Thanks!

-Matt

Last edited: Feb 5, 2016
  2. LoveMyNewSoob

LoveMyNewSoob Member

One thing that I have read and heard many times is to figure out what you really want to do with the car and what your bank account can allow, then start researching.