Z-max!!!

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by AdvanceREX, Apr 21, 2005.

1. AdvanceREX

AdvanceREX Member

i dont know if any of you have heard or tried a car additive system called Z-max before... it does a wonderful job of getting rid of engine clatter, barely any metal-on-metal sounds in the prelude after i used it... but the stuff is complete and uder crap!... i used it before in my prelude, and it caused it to start leaking around the crankshaft seal area... but i didn't think anything about it b/c the car had a list of problems at the time, so i couldn't really say that it was that that did it, (the crankshaft actually almost came out of the car while i was driving one day, to the mechanics of all places...:p), so the half a quart a weak wasnt that big a deal... BUT, i decided to use it on my subbie and guess what... now its leaking where the transmission and engine come together at (which i figure is prolly the crankshaft seal, i'm new to the subbie thing here but to my understanding, it would be located where i am looking at)... so now i'm looking at prolly having to get the seal pulled and getting it replaced... or seeing if it is that at least...

have any of guys ever had to do anyhting like this to your cars... i might try to tackle it myself if i could get a repair manual anywhere and of any type... we dont sell them at work(advance auto)... know where i could get one at anyone? or maybe anyone know any experts that are cheap at working on them if nothing else?

oh... and never use ZMAX!!!... its as bad for your car as much as micheal jackson is for a daycare center...:mad:

2. Tom's WRX

Tom's WRX Member

man thats about as cool as herpes. i would pm weapon wrx, that dude knows more about the inside of that car than any person should. good luck with that.

3. miloman

miloman Retired Admin

sorry to hear about ur troubles... i dunno much about problems of that sort but hopefully someone on here might...

4. rolling_trip

rolling_trip Active Member